assessment · CURRICULUM · Uncategorized

ABCs, we love the alphabet!

The alphabet is obviously critical in teaching reading, writing and more….but art?

I love to use the alphabet as a place to get inspiration for thematic and collaborative projects, whether it is a painting project or more recently, we made a photography unit from the alphabet! Students used the alphabet as an outline to take photos of our school as a form of gathering memories of important spaces and ideas in our school.  Read about it here in my classroom blog!

This year I also created an alphabet letter line in my classroom full of vocabulary that we use often mid-lesson so that students can learn and refer back to each word throughout our lessons.

And students look, they do! I even hung up the posters in the wrong order on the first day by accident which you can see here, which was a cute accident we refer to often too, ha! Do you see my mistake?

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 9.49.59 PM.png

My hope is at the end of this year, I will have my students have this alphabet as an assessment to see if they truly know each word by 5th grade. I am excited to see the results!

Please check it out at my TpT store too! 🙂

Do you use alphabet in your classroom to guide your projects or essential understandings?

Leave a Reply

