being an art teacher · CURRICULUM · Uncategorized

The Power of Vocabulary

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 11.27.31 AM

I am a firm believer in teaching kids the proper words that help explain concepts in our classes, no matter what we teach. I remember debating if I should change a word to explain the facade of a building when teaching kindergarten my first year. I chose to go with the word facade and they totally got it. The next week I taught my kids the word monochromatic, and then I ran into a parent who was beyond proud of her 5 year old wonder for using the words appropriately!

I knew from that moment that the power of vocabulary is profound, and even more….I learned that kids have the capacity to learn so many words to help describe artwork and art processes. This is important and wonderful for our students and their growing minds!

I have made a word wall that I am planning to start adding some velcro to be able to pull these words as I teach to have kids see. Check it out in my TpT store!

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 11.37.51 AM.png
Sample of my word wall: GET THE WHOLE THING IN MY TpT store!

Do you have a way to teach vocabulary? Do you have a word wall? Share below in our comments section!

Leave a Reply

